How to Become a Morning Person!

Hi everyone! In today’s post I’m going to share my tips on becoming a morning person. Many people struggle with getting out of the bed in the morning, like myself. When I do wake up early I feel amazing, I have more time in my day and I feel I can truly get done what I planned to do. I hate when I sleep in and get a late start to my day, I feel very unmotivated and I just want to stay in my pj’s. After scrolling through Pinterest for hours on end and trying new ways to wake up early, I have finally found 6 tips that I do everyday and help me wake up without hitting snooze!

  1. Set your alarm across the room. 
    I put this as the first tip because I feel it’s the best! I used to have a terrible habit of falling asleep with my phone, either forgetting to set an alarm or shutting it off in my sleep. This also made it harder for me to fall asleep because i’d be on Netflix and Youtube all night long. My parents would constantly tell me not to sleep with my phone so finally I just tried it and put my phone on my dresser and WOW did it make a difference. Before i put my phone across my room i’d hear it go off in the morning, turn it off and go back to bed. Now, by putting it across my room it forces me to get out of bed and turn it off which wakes me up even more. By the time i get up and shut it off i’m awake! So put your phone across your room and I promise you it will get you out of your bed.
  2. Go to bed earlier. 
    This is such an obvious one but truly effective. In order to wake up early you need to get a good sleep! Instead of being on your phone all night or watching tv, just go to bed! The average person needs 7-8 hours of sleep a night, not too much or too little. I always struggled with this, i would always go to bed super late and try to wake up early. Even if you can get up early with only getting a few hours of sleep it’s still not the best for your body, plus you will feel so sluggish during the day. By going to bed earlier you will make getting up earlier so much easier! Plus if you go to bed earlier and wake up earlier you will get everything done during the day so it wont keep you up all night!
  3. Open your curtains and let sunlight in.
    I always kept my curtains closed and then I realized it was a big reason why I wasn’t waking up in the morning. When i’d hear my alarm go off and it was dark in my room it gave me no motivation to get up. So instead I started opening my curtains right after turning my alarm off to let the light from the sunrise in. Having your room all lit up instead of being dark will keep you out of bed and make you feel more awake.
  4. Make your bed as soon as you wake up.
    After you have gotten up and turned off your alarm, make your bed! Once I make my bed and set all the pillows up nice I can’t lay back in it because I don’t want to mess it up again. It makes you feel more clean, organized and motivated to stay out of bed; or at least that’s what i feel.
  5. Drink water as soon as you wake up.
    I always have a water bottle on my side table so I when I wake up I can drink it to start my day. Not only does it boost your immune system and flush out toxins but your body needs it! You have just been sleeping for 7-8 hours without drinking any water so your body is dehydrated when you wake up. Even if you don’t feel thirsty when you first wake up, you probably are so drink up!
  6. Do it gradually.
    When I first tried to wake up early I would drastically change the time i would set my alarm for, which made it 10x harder!! If you want to wake up at 6am and you’ve been waking up at 8am, don’t jump right to 6! Start to gradually wake up earlier by 30 minutes. You can start by doing 30 minutes earlier the first week then go higher each week. So week one wake up at 7:30, then the next week wake up at 7:00 and so on until you reach the desired time you want to wake up at.

All of these have helped me so much in becoming a morning person. Personally I just love getting up early, i feel so fresh and motivated but it was still hard to get up at 6:30am so these 6 tips have made such a change in my mood and energy in getting up early. I hope these work for you because they were amazing for me! I have gone through so many different ways to try to wake up early and they never worked for me like these did. Now waking up early isn’t a problem for me, I actually look forward to it!

xo

Leave a Reply

